Annette Lambeth,Progress Yourself and Your Skills

Hard work was always instilled in me as a key value by my parents. I was lucky enough to be raised to value the fruits that diligence and determination can bear, and luckily for me it has always been a natural characteristic. At school I was a focused and curious student, determined not only to achieve good grades but also learn more about the subjects we studied. For hard workers university is something of a dream environment- so much knowledge, tools and opportunities to learn and progress yourself and your skills.

Curiosity was a a value that I always held dear. I wasn’t the type of student to sit back and take in any information. I was always keen to ask questions, and know more about the subject, which may have caused me to be a real pain to some teachers! Whilst some students moaned and groaned their way through school, for me it was a world of wonders and fascinating information. In my youthful naivete, school seemed like a perfect Utopian paradise, with no problems at all. However, what did raise questions in my child’s mind was why this was not the case for everyone. For myself, I curiosity and determination meant that I clocked onto complex ideas fairly quickly. When I saw others struggling, I couldn’t really comprehend why. What I was witnessing then was the injustices of the American education system coming into play. In developing these thoughts in later life, I decided to pursue a career in education, and help make it more accessible and better for all children, regardless of ability age or background. Annette Lambeth on Pinterest.

As a doctorate student at Immaculata University, I turned my attentions towards understanding educational methods for children with ADHD, a common and often mis-perceived problem with many children in America. Here I was able to build the foundations for my interest in developing an education system that not only favors helping children like myself pursue an academic career, but one in which children with all learning abilities can reach their full potential.

Engaging people with the debates on how to do this, and slowly putting pressure on institutions to make these reforms is the goal I and my colleagues have worked to achieve in our careers. Last summer I developed the Special Education Summer Symposium, which drew teachers who work with children with special needs together to discuss the future of the profession. The aim of the event was to retain, recruit and support those working in this area, and proved to be a resounding success. For those working in this niche of the education industry, events like this represent small but extremely important stepping stones in taking special education into the future Find out more about my work here at Annette Lambeth – Why Education is Important.

Leave a Reply

